Discussion Expanded PTCGO Tournaments

PMJ

Silhouette Gloom of the Sundown Lands
Forum Head
Articles Head
Elite Member
Advanced Member
Hello everyone. I've been running PokeBeach's PTCGO Tournaments for five months now and I'm always looking for ways to improve them. For those of you who are long-time participants of our tournaments, you'll note that they have always been played in the Standard format. This is largely because the tournaments are held on PTCGO, and Standard stuff is easier to obtain; however, good Expanded cards are not impossible to find, and Expanded is an official format that I feel like we would be remiss to simply ignore.

With that said, I have created a poll to gauge interest in holding Expanded tournaments. If we held one, would you play in it? Why or, more importantly, why not?

If the reaction is positive enough, I'd like to hold the first one in May (April will remain Standard). Please vote in the poll and post any comments. If you have any unrelated ideas about how to make the tournaments better, I'd also be interested in hearing your thoughts on that as well.

https://strawpoll.com/faf4s9e

I'd enjoy playing an expanded tournament for variety. I prefer standard normally, but part of that is my unfamiliarity with expanded which this would fix. I think it would be cool to rotate each month, or even just run a quarterly/semi-annual expanded tournament in place of the standard one for that particular month. I don't think I would have time for two in one month so if both were offered at the same time I'd probably pick and rotate myself.

It would not be run alongside a Standard tournament. There will only be one tournament per month, regardless of format.