Embarrassing ...or not?

Does Pokemon seem embarrassing to your friends?

• Total voters

pkolaboy

Tyranitar be taunting'
To start off, I am 24 years old and never played ptcg in my life (only collected when they first came out). I started playing December of 2011 and now like to play competitively (living in Hawaii restricts playing to only the main tournaments).

This is mainly for masters and some older seniors. To get to the main point, does admitting to playing Pokemon to some of your friends seem a little, embarrassing? I am in the Navy and not many of my friends know I play. I wouldn't seem like the type of person that plays the card game. When someone finds out that I play they immediately say "You play POKEMON??".

lol I am pretty sure they think of Pokemon when it first came out when "We were kids" and think that it stays at that level. What they do not know is that the majority of people that play are 18+ years old, that Pokemon is one of the most strategic card games out there (also one of the cheapest), and obviously super fun! They guy who won states here (24 yo), I asked him what friends of his knew he played. He said only the one guy who came with him a couple of times to play. So I am not sure if this is a problem with other tcg players so I figured to ask.

Now I am not bashing Pokemon at all. I love to play tcg and vg and any time I get the chance to play tcg (not online) I will jump at it.

Tell people to judge you by who you are, not your hobbies. I'm 17 and am not one bit embarrassed by playing Pokemon, in fact, I am very open about it. Pokemon is actually how I got most of my friends anyways.

I have liked Pokémon stuff on Facebook so it's there for anyone to see if they care. I don't advertise that I like it, though. xP