Confused Newbie here (Competitive TCG)

Cochi

Aspiring Trainer
Hi! i'm new around here and in the world of TCG, that's why i made the post. First thing first, let me introduce my situation:

When i was younger (base set "era") i had some friends who played pokemon with me, but then i quit. I've always liked pokemon (played almost all the games for the handhelds at least) so i though "why don't give TCG a try again?" . So, as you can see, i'm practically a NOOB and don't remember a lot of things.

In the nearby there is a place where people play competitive, so i went there and asked a few things. For what i understood, there are different "formats" and the cards rotate every year (which i find pretty sucky but...meh) To get along with the game again, i started playing TCG online (my user is K0chi btw) but i already won city championship so there is not so much to do (cuz i use the decks of the game, so in pvp i get owned with EX based decks)

The thing is i want to get introduced to the mechanics of competitive play again. There is a problem though, here in Argentina competitive TCG is pretty expensive. The people of the game center in the nearby told me that if i play competitive, i will spend lots of money, so they suggest to have in mind what kind of deck i want and then buy cards, instead of booster packs or decks (because in my country a booster is worth like....mmm 8 US dollars i think). But then here in the forums i read that Darkrai tin is a good start (or was dark explorers theme deck? i can't remember well, sorry)

Considering i can't afford to spend like 200 dollars in booster boxes or tins monthly just to pull good cards, the advice seems logical. But if you take in mind EX cards are hard to get (it seems every deck needs them for what i saw in the center or in TCGO, is like mandatory) buying them solo is expensive too.