Help Beginner Questions

JeremyR

Aspiring Trainer
Hi there,

Firstly just like to apologise for being lazy and not searching the forums for answers to my questions. Problem is I have a handful of them and I dont think Id find the exact answer I am after regarding some of them. So hopefully I dont offend anybody in the process. I am a beginner at playing PTCG and there are a few things that are not very clear for me.

So here I go...
1. Regarding switching pokemon out, if I choose a trainer card or attack that says the opponent is to switch their active pokemon, is the opponent able to bring that pokemon back to active on their next turn? It seems a little pointless using switch if thats the case other than the retreat cost of their active pokemon.

2. Can you put energy on a Stage 1 pokemon even though that pokemon has not evolved yet?

3. Can you use an ability from a Stage 1 pokemon even though that pokemon has not evolved yet?

4. Can I have 5 pokemon on my bench plus my active pokemon? If I want to retreat can I move a benched pokemon to my hand to make room for my retreating pokemon?

5. If my attack says put some damage counters on my opponents benched pokemon, does that include pokemon on my opponents bench that havent evolved yet?

6. Can you use the same attack in a row over and over again?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
It sounds like you haven't read the rules for the game as all of the questions are easily answered by the game rules. I would sugggest reading the rules or downloading PTCGO and playing the tutorial.

1) Yes they can retreat like normal

2+3) You play a stage 1 pokemon by evolving so it's no to both. I have no idea what your concept of evolving pokemon is but it's wrong

4) Yes 1 active and 5 bench is a very basic rule. Retreating switches the active pokemon with a benched pokemon so there is no issue with space.

5) Again I don't know what you think the evolving mechanic is because this question makes no sense.

6) Why not?