Discussion Which GX Cards are the Best to Have?

Lugia

Invisible Presence
I'm still learning all the details of the trading card game and with the addition of the new GX cards, I'm curious as to which ones are the best to have on your team in terms of attacks and defense. Thanks!

Right now the biggest staple GX is Tapu Lele GX...which you might be able to tell by its price tag if you shop for it online. Its ability allows you to search for any supporter in your deck, so it's become a staple in any deck that benefits from Brigette.

Outside of that, some of the top performing GX Pokemon right now would be Gardevoir GX, Golisopod GX, Metagross GX, Drampa GX, Ho-Oh GX, and Alolan Ninetales GX. There are a handful of other GX Pokemon as well, but fundamentally speaking each GX Pokemon is a deck of their own. You don't just throw together a deck full of GXs and hope to do well. Since Pokemon have specific energy requirements in order to attack, you want to keep themes as thematic as possible. If you play Gardevoir, you want to focus on fairy energy and Pokemon that need fairy or colorless energy in order to attack. A lot of times, most decks won't run more than 1 GX attacker, at I'd say at max 3 different kinds of GX Pokemon. There is still a lot of value in having non-GX Pokemon both for having an attacker that only loses 1 prize when KO'd (GX Pokemon lose you 2 prizes per KO), and also a lot of non-GX Pokemon have very good abilities, such as Garbodor's Garbotoxin and Octillery's Abyssal Hand that can be played in accomodation with a lot of GX Pokemon.

If you're mostly interested in attack and defense, I would group the more popular GX Pokemon like so: