Discussion What's Your Favorite Format of All Time?

GamePhoenix

Fellow Mortal
Ok, so I just a curious what the most popular format of all time is. As I have really only played in 2017-2018 Standard and Expanded I would have to say the current Standard.

PokeMedic

Don't talk to me or my Pokemon ever again
Articles Staff
The format MD-on was my favorite. It's when my heart and energy was into Pokemon the most.

Jabberwock

#Jovimohnaeliackvid
Forum Mod
Articles Staff
I started playing in mid-2012 (HS-NXD) as a Junior, which was one of the most degenerate formats ever (Mewtwo wars wheee) save for like Gym and a couple other WotC formats. At my first Regionals I played ZekEels, went up against Durant R1, and lost pretty badly, lol. The rest of it was a lot of fun, though.

That said, not long afterward, a bunch of friends of mine (most of whom had been playing since '08 or earlier) started to despair of Basic-dominated formats and build old decks from their favorite eras (and some from times before they started playing). Long story short, they got me into it, I started building old decks, and found old formats ridiculously fun. Most of my old decks right now are from DP-UL ('10) and MD-on (the first half of '11, before the emergency rotation), but I've also got a few from other formats (Base-Rocket, '05, '08, '12). I've also played a solid amount of other formats using friends' decks. I'd say my favorite would also have to be MD-on, like @PokeMedic. It's just so diverse in terms of decks, techs, and strategies that there are a thousand different ways to play the format, and they're all awesome.