Volkner's Philosophy (Rising Rivals)
Q. Do you *have* to discard a card in order to use Volkner's Philosophy?
A. No, the discard portion of Volkner's Philosophy is optional. (May 21, 2009 PUI Rules Team)
Q. Can I play Volkner's Philosophy if I already have more than 6 cards in my hand? Or what if I don't have any cards in my deck?
A. You have to be able to draw at least one card from your deck, regardless of whether you discard a card first or not. If you cannot draw any cards, due to having too many in your hand or zero in your deck, you cannot play this card. (May 21, 2009 PUI Rules Team)