Ruling Volcanian Prism Star's Jet Geyser

Discussion in 'PTCG Competitive Play' started by AngryBokoblin, Oct 11, 2019.

  1. AngryBokoblin Guzzlord is fun
    AngryBokoblin

    Member

    Can I use jet geyser when my opponent only has 1 pokemon in play?
    I thought I couldn't, but the other day I was on PTCGO and it let me use it.
    Because PTCGO is not an official rules source, I wanted to check on here if a judge could verify this ruling.
    Thanks in advance!
     


  2. PMJ happy thoughts
    PMJ

    Articles Head Activities Staff Badges Staff Elite Member Advanced Member Member

    Jet Geyser (Volcanion {*} - Forbidden Light)

    Q. Can I discard a {W} energy card from my hand using Volcanion {*}'s "Jet Geyser" Ability if my opponent has no Benched Pokemon?
    A. Yes, you may. (Forbidden Light FAQ; May 3, 2018 TPCi Rules Team)

    https://compendium.pokegym.net/compendium-bw.html

    The reason this is allowed is because the power is resolved in two parts. The first part is discarding the Energy. The second part - the "if you do" part - happens if you do the first. It checks that you did the first thing, and then, if you did it, you do the second thing.

    It's because the power is split into two separate clauses that discarding the Energy for no target is allowed.
     

Viewing Now: 0 Members + 0 Guests

There are no registered members viewing this forum. Why not register here and start a discussion?

Moderated By

AlphaVoxel, Brave Vesperia

Share This Page