Ruling VireX+tools question

Seth1789110

.
Member
If a defending pokemon has buffer piece, and Electivire has say expert belt and uses Pulse Barrier, does the buffer piece get discarded first, and the attack does 70 damage, or does it get discarded after, so the attack would do 50?

EDIT: Thank you Banuffin.
 
Damage would be calculated and applied prior to the secondary effect of Pulse Barrier. Therefore, the attack would do 50 damage, after which Buffer Piece would be discarded (thus applying the protective effect of Pulse Barrier during your opponent's next turn).

I cannot find a ruling in the Compendium for this specific scenario, but here is a similar ruling along the same principle:

Compendium said:
Q. If my Exploud-EX uses its "Derail" attack against a Pokémon with a Metal Energy attached, does the Metal get to reduce damage by -10 before being discarded or not?
A. The -10 for Metal Energy is calculated in before it gets discarded by Derail. (Nov 16, 2006 PUI Rules Team)
 
Back
Top