Help Unit Energy Question

Discussion in 'Pokémon Trading Card Game' started by Robert Fuchs, Mar 26, 2018.

  1. Robert Fuchs PCTGO name: Ben358358, PST zone
    Robert Fuchs

    Member

    Hi

    Rules question here. Suppose you have a unit energy LPM one attached to a Necrozma GX, and you use it's attack where it says discard all P energy attached to this card. Also suppose you have 2 more basic P energies attached to it.

    When you do this attack, is it up to you if the unit energy is a P or a L or M? Can you have the option then to discard either 2 or 3 energies when you attack?

    Or does the unit energy "have" to count as a psychic?


    Thanks
     


  2. Shfinx Meta Slave btw
    Shfinx

    Member

    Unless I'm mistaken, you would have to discard it. The way the text reads, it says that it [provides all three of the types of energy, but only one energy at a time. Basically, you have an energy that counts as Lightning, Psychic, and metal all at once, but can only be used to pay for one energy in an attacks energy cost. It would count as a psychic energy, then, and you would have to discard it.

    I could be wrong, but that's my interpretation. Hope this helps!
     
  3. AuraJackle Aspiring Trainer
    AuraJackle

    Member

    It is psychic as well as the others their is no choosing what type it is. it is All of them and thus needs to be discarded
     
    Otaku likes this.
  4. gumball51321 *thumbs up*
    gumball51321

    Member

    Yeah, you discard all of them. If I'm not mistaken, you don't even get the bonus damage from discarding Unit Energy, since that was how Rayquaza-EX(DRX) and Double Dragon Energy interacted. Although I could be wrong.
     
  5. AuraJackle Aspiring Trainer
    AuraJackle

    Member

    No you do it's a psychic when it's discarded ultra necrozma however has no use for it similar to rayquazza because they specify a basic of a specific type
     
  6. gumball51321 *thumbs up*
    gumball51321

    Member

    Oooh, yeah, you're right. Good thing I wasn't sure of something incorrect or else we would have another Gardevoir scenario.
     
  7. AuraJackle Aspiring Trainer
    AuraJackle

    Member

    But that was fun
     
    gumball51321 likes this.
  8. gumball51321 *thumbs up*
    gumball51321

    Member

    Oh screw you





    It's a joke in case the mods get super sensitive
     
  9. salad_thrower87 Aspiring Trainer
    salad_thrower87

    Member

    What about Cobalion-GX's ability? Does it still count as Metal Energy? I was also wondering about Prism Energy, and if the same rule would apply to it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2019
  10. The Almighty Bidoof Just your everyday MtF trans Bidoof worshipper
    The Almighty Bidoof

    Member

    yes and yes
     

Viewing Now: 0 Members + 0 Guests

There are no registered members viewing this forum. Why not register here and start a discussion?


Share This Page