Ruling Umbreon Prime

YourP1MP

Make A Wish
Member
So my opponent has an Umbreon Prime active and another Umbreon Prime benched. They call out "Cloud Covered Moon" I show Power Spray. They then call it out again with the logic of the bench being able to use it because an Umbreon Prime is active.

Can they do that?
 
The benched Umbreon's Poke-POWER could only be used if it was brought into the active position. The POWER is self-referencing; it does not mean that as long as an Umbreon is active, you can use it. The specific Umbreon whose POWER is being used must be active. Think of the POWER text as being written in the following manner:

"Once during your turn (before your attack), if this Pokemon is your Active Pokemon[...]"
 
Back
Top