Ruling Trainer lock > Primal Scythe?

banuffin

Luvs the Eevee
Member
Quick question here. Saw a similar thread but didn't want to hijack it with this similar, but distinct, question:

Assuming I'm able to get Dome Fossil AoA out at the start and/or prior to my opponent's trainer lock (via Gastly, Spiritomb, etc.), but my Kabutops AoA is played after my opponent trainer locks me, can I still use Primal Scythe's optional ability of discarding a fossil from hand to increase the attack's damage? I don't really know if discarding a card to pay for an attack cost counts as "playing" a card (if that IS how it works I'd imagine trainer locks limit Primal Scythe to 20 base damage).

Thanks much for your input!
 
You can still discard because it is the effect of your attck it is not considered to be playing a trainer. if you were to put a fossil down on your bench thne that would be playing it.

T
 
You carry out the effect of the attack. The effect is on you, not your pokemon. This means you may discard the fossil to do the extra damage.
edit: ninja'd
 
Unless you play the card outright,as in placing on the bench,or using an effect of the trainer itself(which would generally be impossible with fossils)you can discard the card and do 70.

EDIT:
Is it me being too slow to type or is everyone else just faster???
 
TDA said:
Unless you play the card outright,as in placing on the bench,or using an effect of the trainer itself(which would generally be impossible with fossils)you can discard the card and do 70.

EDIT:
Is it me being too slow to type or is everyone else just faster?

Most likely your typing my Computer is really old like 2006 I think. lol

T

That wasn't necessary.
~Zyflair
 
Back
Top