Ruling torrid wave

No, you cannot. A benched Pokemon cannot be affected by any special conditions (at least for sets Base through HG/SS, no telling what the future will bring).
 
well can he use it and then it gets removed

so he says torrid wave on benched yanma does that mean he used the torrid wave for the turn but then it does nothing
 
Magmortar can't choose a benched Pokemon. The text says, "one of the defending Pokemon". The defending Pokemon is the active Pokemon. The reason it says, "one of" was for a slightly older battle mechanic called, "double battles", in which there were two active Pokemon. A lot of the older cards say it.
 
Back
Top