Ruling This Pokemon can't use an attack next turn

Wish Maker

Aspiring Trainer
Member
When I played with an opponent's SP deck, I was happily playing with him, until he attacked with GarchompC's Dragon Rush twice in a row. I called a judge saying it was not possible, since the card states:"Discard 2 Energy attached to GarchompC. Choose 1 of your opponent's Pokemon. This attack does 80 damage to that Pokemon. GarchompC can't use Dragon Rush during your next turn". My opponent argued that when a Pokemon returns to bench and then becomes active again, it loses the effect of the attack itself and can use it again. I told the judge GarchompC is treated as "this Pokemon" via self-reference, so since "this Pokemon" is still in play, the effect is still active. I explained that the move could be legally used if GarchompC Lv.X leaves play and that same card levels-up from a different GarchompC in play since it is considered other Pokemon. The judge just said the move was legal.

So, is if true that a Pokemon that can't attack or use an attack loses the effect in bench? If true, so why we could not use Blastoise PL Double Launcher twice in the same BR's?
 
Your opponent, and the ruling judge, were correct. The 'this Pokémon can't use this attack next turn' is an effect of that attack. Like special conditions, this effect on the attacking Pokémon would be removed by leveling-up, by evolving, or by retreating to the bench. So, if your opponent's Garchomp C LV. X used "Dragon Rush", and then on the following turn played such that the same Garchomp C LV. X was retreated and then made active again, the effect of Dragon Rush would be removed, and your opponent would be able to use Dragon Rush twice in a row via the same Garchomp.

I don't understand why Blastoise would be any different. Blastoise PL should be able to use Double Launcher twice in a row using the same logic.

Also, please use scans or link to the cards in question, to help us better respond to your requests.
 
Back
Top