Ruling Super Scoop up and powers

Sonic_Freak

Proud Member of the RightWing Conspiracy
Member
If a pokémon with a "when you play onto bench" power like Mesprit is played and then immidiately picked back up with Super Scoop Up does their power still have an effect?
 
Yes it does, the effect is activated and stays active no matter if the pokemon that activated it that turn is still on the field, unless it says otherwise
 
Sonic_Freak said:
But your answer directly contradicts the ruling here Shuppet and Plus Powers. They told me that a card cannot affect the field from your hand, thus the discard effect of plus powers ends when it's returned to your hand and they used pokepowers as an example to back up the claim. Now I'm confused. I thought this was a no-brainer.

Just posting this here. The difference between Mesprit and Pluspower is that PlusPower reads "Discard this card at the end of your turn." but is not on the field to be discarded. Mesprit was already on the field to have it's effect activated, and it will stay active, even if it leaves.

(If another professor can explain this better feel free to)
 
Back
Top