Discussion State of the meta

Mistadirtyziggy

Aspiring Trainer
Hey all,

So I am still fairly new to the competitive PTCG scene, and am simply curious about the current meta and how major tournaments, especially top 8's, reflect the overall state of the meta right now. From what I see, there seems to be very little variance in what decks are played in tournaments and especially what decks make top 8, and I wonder if this suggests that the meta is stagnant with just a few dominant decks? Or does is it more of a symptom of being close to rotation so there are fewer established decks and a small card pool compared to later in the format's lifespan? Do you think the meta is in a healthy place right now? Thus far I only play online, and I see a wide variety of decks (though certainly there are a few lists that I see much more frequently like Zoroark, baby Buzz, Garbodor), but wonder if in paper and tournament play if this is also the case. What do you guys think?

TorchHG

Aspiring Trainer
So to give a more thorough answer, the Metagame is in a weird place that's kind of hard to describe.

The consistency given by draw supporters in this meta is somewhat lacking, where Cynthia and Lillie are the strongest options we have. There are other options, but there isn't anything that compares to the power of Sycamore or N. This definitely is a hit on consistency.

As for the variance of what is played, there really hasn't been too many tournaments in the US this season, and only a few other tournaments that we have deck lists readily available. But, the base of the archetypes that have done well, Buzzwole/Lycanroc, Rayquava/Vikavolt, Buzzwole Shrine, and Psychic Malamar, have very solid bases and have already been proven archetypes. Essentially, the Meta hasn't developed a whole lot (besides Shrine decks actually taking a decent chunk of the metagame) and really only the strongest decks of last season (aside from Zoroark) have developed a foothold on the current Meta.