SSBM Question

Arcanine 274

=/
I have heard talk about "Wavedashing" and "Waveshine" (correct name?). I was just wondering how you accomplish this? Apparently it's by abusing the game's physics, but I don't know how to actually pull it off.

Anyone help?

Arcanine out.

I'm not an expert at wavedashing yet, but I can tell you how to do it.

What you do is jump in the air, and immediately air dodge diagonally into the ground. If you do it right, you'll see some smoke come off your character, and you will slide on the ground a distance. It varies with each character. Also, jump with either X or Y instead of the control stick since you will need to use it to air dodge.

Luigi's wavedash is the longest and easiest to notice. Marth and Ice Climbers have good wavedashes too. Try practicing with Luigi in Final Destination.

Waveshining, I believe, is wavedashing and ending with Fox's/Falco's Reflector.

Even though I'm not an expert either, I can give some more details.

You're going to want to air dodge art the sharpest angle possible; the sharper the angle, the farther you slide.

Waveshining is a tad more difficult. As Fox (you pull the waveshine with Fox. His moves them straight forward. Falco's doesn't work because it hits them upward.) you use the shine, immediately jump to cancel the lag of the shine, and then wavedash back to the ground right in front of where your oppenent is hit to. Then you use another shine and repeat the process. It's pretty hard, but if you can get good at it you can get people up to incredibly high percentages on certain levels just hitting them against a wall.

Also, the easiest characters to waveshine are Ganondorf and Link.

[ChanseyMaster]

Alright, here comes some n00bness. Define air dodge, because I may or may not know what you're talking about. But I can figure out everything besides that.

Arcanine out.

Jump + L or R + move control stick up, down, left, or right = air dodge