Ruling Some Questions

masterofthecards

Reviving that 12 year old account
Member
Being back to the game these come up because i don't know all the little knocks of this game and its fun :). (i play mtg/yugioh for reference)

1. What happens when a SF machamp attacks a basic Pokemon with unknown g, its first attack, by saying instead it sounds like it does no damage at all and since G protects it. The basic takes no damage and is not knocked out correct?

2. With pokepowers is there ever a "Cost" or do you choose pokemon when you activate or when it resolvable? I want to know since power spray comes out soon and with alakazam... Does stopping prevent anything from happening or do they make a choice and then i can choose? thanks

also when searching in the deck can you fail to find something correct? also if searching publicly like discard pile for TSD may i choose only 2 cards if there are three?

Thanks for help... These are bugging me...

~!Master
 
1. The defending Pokemon does take the 40 damage but it is not knocked out.

2. What? Can you please be a little less confusing?

3. Yes and yes. You can do that because it doesn't tell you that you have to get one.
 
1. On the machamp so it does 40 no matter what? just has the added bonus of atuo-ko? ok i thought that with the word instead it does that in place of damage [as how it is worded] or am i reading to much into it?

and the second one:
Say my opponent use Palkia LVX restructure. Do i get to see what they choose in case i want to power cancel it? or do all poke-Powers effects work when they go through or do you do actions before. I want know at what point with poke=powers i can choose to stop them (with power cancel or power spray next set) so if i see there restructure choice or do i stop it when the actiave it before choices are made etc. Did that clarify?

~Master
 
From what the card says, when your opponent declares the Power, you have the choice to stop it or go through with it. If you see what they bring up, the Power would still work IMO.
 
Mudkip the answer to the first question is wrong. It is what masterofthecadrs said would happen. The Pokemon wouldn't take damage and wouldn't be knocked out.
2. You would have to declare to use Power Spray or Power Cancel before any of it begins. What I mean is that they declare it and then you declare the way you cancel it. Because the power was canceled nothing happens.
3. If searching the deck for a specific card you can say it fails. But if searching the discard pile with NM then you can pick as many as you want up to 3. But with TSD it actually says you have to take that many unlike NM where it says "up to".
 
I'm just going to throw in some added detail.

1. If Machamp uses Take Out on a Basic Pokemon with Unown G attached, then the attack does nothing. The reason why is because of the word instead. First the attack determines if the Defending Pokemon is a Basic or not. The Defending Pokemon is a Basic so now instead of doing damage, it does the auto KO effect. Since Unown G is attached to the Pokemon, the effect does nothing. (Basically you were right to look into the word "instead")

2. As a fellow MTG player, I know what you're getting at with the Power Spray/Poke-Powers. Like Mudkip and Lunar Wing previously mentioned, you have to declare to use the Power Spray/Power Cancel right as they use it. (You can't let them decide all their stuff and then "fast effect counter" them =P)

3. Lunar Wing covered this question pretty clearly. I only want to clarify that for Night Maintenance, you HAVE to pick up at least 1, at most 3. Some times the "up to" phrase can be slightly confusing.
 
Back
Top