TCG Fakes Some Interesting Concepts/Ideas

matthewbny

no
I'm developing my own sandbox-esque program in Python that, at the very moment is unfinished and really crude, but it was more of a proof-of-concept thing to me as I've been programming on and off for a couple years (school, jobs, volunteering gets in the way frequently). I've wanted to develop a simple format so, when I actually do get to finish it and it works, I can have a couple set's worth of Pidgeys with 30HP and Gust attacks that do 10 for 1 in my game if I reeeeaallllyyy wanted to, but I haven't worked on attacks, effects or abilities yet.

First idea: making a format where everything is around Base Set-Neo levels of power in terms of attacks, effects and HP. For example, something like Charmander would have 40HP as opposed to 60HP or 70HP. The game would feature Pokemon-EX and Pokemon-GX, with +10-30 more HP than usual, as well as Supporter cards as well. This was because things are a lot more complex now and things are a lot harder to kill.

In this format, Pokemon-EX and Pokemon-GX coexist. Almost always, Basic Pokemon will be Pokemon-EX, and almost always Evolved Pokemon will be Pokemon-GX. There may be some set-defining card that's a Basic that deserves a GX card but for the most part it'll stick to that rule.

Rewording common phrases to save space. Most changes are self-explanatory and since this wouldn't be geared towards the 7 year olds PTCG markets to, you can be a little more lax with the verbage. For example:
-(Don't apply Weakness or Resistance for Benched Pokemon.) is implied, so it's skipped. If you want to apply W/R to Benched Pokemon, just write "(Apply Weakness and Resistance.)"

-Instead of writing "Discard 2 cards from the top of your/your opponent's Deck.", write "Mill 2 cards from the top of you/your opponent's Deck." People know what milling is.