Ruling Shayimin LV.X, Torterra LV.X, Dialga G LV.X and multiples KO.

Blaine

This sentence is false
Member
I have a doubt about how this situation is solved.
Player A
-Active: Regigigas LV.X w/ 4 energies
-Bench: Dialga G LV.X (no damage counters), others.
-Prizes: 5
Player B:
-Active: Torterra LV.X w/ 4 energies (no damage counters)
-Bench: Shaymin LV.X (land form), others.
-Prizes: 6
Player B turn. Player B uses Forest Murmurs and sends Dialga G LV.X Active. Player B attacks Dialga G LV.X with Vigorous Dash. Torterra LV.X´s remaining HP: 130, Dialga G LV.X´s remaining HP: 20.
Player A turn. Player A plays Switch and send Regigigas LV.X Active. Player A attacks Torterra with Giga Blaster. Torterra LV.X´s remaining HP: 30.
Player B turn. Player B attacks Regigigas LV.X with Vigorous Dash (bench damage to Dialga G LV.X). Dialga LV.X´s remaining HP:0, Torterra LV.X´s remaining HP: 0.

My question is, does Torterra LV.X is KOed and discarded before Dialga G LV.X, or Shaymin LV.X´s Poke-Body triggers and Torterra LV.X´s remaining HP is 40?
 
I'm pretty sure my answer is right, actually very sure. Torterra LV. X's remaining HP would be 40 because Dialga G LV. X is KO'd then at the same time that Shaymin's Body would activate Torterra takes 30. My reasoning for this if that on Torterra LV. X it says 30 to the bench, then it says 30 to its self. However, it does not say then, so there is no way to tell if they happen simultaneously or one after the other. It really shouldn't matter if it happens simultaneously because even if it did Shaymin should kick in at the same time that they would both be KO'd, saving Torterra from being knocked out.
 
I thought that that would happen because of the way Vigorous Dash is written but I wasn´t very sure.
Thanks for confirming.
 
I'm pretty sure Torterra would be KOed. Rule of thumb: Finish all effects of an attack before checking for KOs. So, do attack, resolve all effects such as bench damage and dealing damage to yourself, then check for any KOs. All KOs occur at the same time. Because at the time KOs are checked Torterra has enough damage on it for it to be KOed, it would be KOed with Dialga. Shaymin comes into play after Dialga is KOed. So Torterra would not gain the extra HP untill after Dialga is KOed.
 
Yeah. Now that I compare the two answers, I realize I forgot that you check for KO's after all effects are resolved. And just to prove you're right, the same applies to Uxie and Gengar's Fainting Spell. If you put it on bottom first then it isn't in danger of Fainting Spell because the effect activated before Gengar was KO'd.
 
Kronar: But Pokebody's are just...there. Are they not like pokepowers at all times? If this is the case, torterra would not be KO'ed, right?
 
No. It would be. Because Dialga G LV. X is shutting Shaymin LV. X's Poke Body down. Therefore, it isn't "turned on" when Torterra would be KO'd. because all KO's happen at the same time.
 
Back
Top