Ruling Rescue energy function

guiltysky

Pokemon Master
Member
Bit of confusion today over Skype league match today with another pokebeach member.

Opponent had Gengar SF as active with 1 {P} and 1 Rescue Energy attached.

90-rescue-energy.jpg


Knocked it out with Beat Up from Sneasel.

He discarded both energies and took all Gengar, Haunter and Gastly back into his hand.

Is that the right way to play it? Or should he have discarded everything including basic and stage 1 since they were cards ATTACHED to the pokemon as is/per the rescue energy too?
 
I don't know of official rulings on this, but since other cards that target the Pokemon on which it is used (such as Super Scoop Up) would also return all stages to the ower's hand, I believe Rescue Energy would do the same. Gengar, Haunter and Gastly would all return to their owner's hand, with other cards attached to Gengar being discarded.
 
While in play the Pokemon is treated as one. All stages go back to the owners hand.~Mark
 
Back
Top