Community PokeBeach "Book" Club - What Did You Read Today?

Professor Palutena

The Queen
Hey everyone,

For those that don't know, I'm a librarian! And I've been talking with people on our Discord (which you should totally join) about what we read and what we like reading.

Reading is so beneficial to mental development regardless of age and regardless of what you read. Therefore, this thread is not specifically about books. Tell me about the cereal boxes you read, the chat rooms you read, the road signs you read, or really anything like that.

And often times, listening goes hand in hand with reading to develop comprehension. Tell us also what you listened to, whether it's some music, an audiobook, a podcast or, again, really anything.

Also be sure to give links to what you submit so that others curious can get other suggestions. I'll keep an index in the OP of everything that PB is reading/listening to.

Thanks friends!

This is actually a well-timed thread, because today my Summer homework was set. Next year I'm intending on taking the English Pre-U course at my 6th form level, which is a big step up from the GCSE level English I've just completed. For the non-brits out there, the difference is basically that at GCSE level the books I studied are Lord of the Flies and Frankenstein, both of which I really didn't like because I felt they're written badly. The homework over the Summer as a bridge between the GCSE-level books and the ones we're studying next year is one of the following list:
  • Great Expectations
  • Wuthering Heights
  • Far From the Madding Crowd
  • The Grapes of Wrath
  • The Handmaid's Idea
  • A Handful of Dust