Discussion Just got back into P:tCG (Online) - where to start?

Sherezad

Aspiring Trainer
Hello everyone! I just started playing the online version of the game and have really enjoyed what the game has to offer. I've heard a lot about how the game has changed since Basic/Jungle/Fossil and wanted to know the best route to get a functional standard deck rolling.

Online I have the whole 2 x Mach Drive deck and have been working on building up some staples I've seen listed on Reddit but would love more of a discussion as to where the Meta is these days.

Also I look forward to getting into the next tourney on here! Wooo first time (hopefully!)

snoopy369

Aspiring Trainer
Advanced Member
Take a look at limitlesstcg.com to start with - that shows you the decks that're doing well at regionals. Depends on your budget really as to what you want to run; I have both a BuzzGarbShrine and a GasKan deck that are pretty cheap to make and both pretty good. But they'll take a while to get the cards for online I suspect.

In general, you'll do fine with any of the major meta decks. Even double Mach Strike is fine for now, especially if you can get a few shrine of punishments into it. Swampoleon is also good (using the empoleon and swampert theme decks as a starter).

Sherezad

Aspiring Trainer
Thanks! I had taken a peek at the current winning decks in standard and they aren't that expensive (in comparison to say, MtG). I've modified the Mach decks into something kind of playable for standard (had no idea how fast it really could go!) but you can tell it's missing some things atm.

Also, wow so many shiny cards.

snoopy369

Aspiring Trainer
Advanced Member
Thanks! I had taken a peek at the current winning decks in standard and they aren't that expensive (in comparison to say, MtG). I've modified the Mach decks into something kind of playable for standard (had no idea how fast it really could go!) but you can tell it's missing some things atm.

Also, wow so many shiny cards.