Discussion How Do You Build a Deck Without LTC?

TheStrictNein

Has tried turning it off and on again
I barely knew how to construct decks when decking out wasn't so much of an issue. Now I have literally no idea how to put 60 cards together. How do you build a modern deck without LTC? Do you even continue to use certain cards? Do you start running 20 energy? How does it work? I'm a Professor for card interactions, not deck building

I guess just start using cards like N or Colress again instead of Sycamore all the time, then have a lot of revives and energy retrievals. It kinda neuters a lot of battle compressor reliant decks to some extent. Try to use some repeat balls instead of ultra balls where possible I guess. Team mates I guess is better now.

Its probably more how you play rather than deck building. Sure deck building will change. You can't go with 4 of Acro Bike, 4 VS Seeker, 4 Battle Compressor, 4 Juniper and expect to not deck out if you play every card you draw into.

I've been playing Shiftry recently. Even with only 2 Sycamore, I can easily deck myself out in maybe turn 4/5 and then use trump card. I can still play this deck without trump card, I just need to know when to stop using leaf draw.

Im expecting Teammates and Skyla to be a little more used. Since you can just go digging through your deck anymore looking for that one card you need and get extra stuff along the way.

I think there's still a place for the speed drawing mechanics that became prevalent, except now it is a case of risk vs. reward that didn't exist while LTC was in the format. If you want to draw out half your deck T1 to achieve that ideal setup you can still do that, but you're putting yourself on a clock until you deck yourself out. Hell, people were playing Roller Skates and Battle Compressor before LTC became prevalent.