Ruling Holon's Magneton

EverPhoenix

Aspiring Trainer
Member
If I attach Holon's Magneton to a Pokemon, can I return Holon's Magneton back to my hand with its effect?

holons-magneton-delta-species-ds-22.jpg

If this was Magic, the wording 'when' would imply that Magneton was already attached when you have to return an energy. Is this the case here?
 
Anyone? I'm assuming that if the Pokemon I'm attaching to already has an energy attached, there's no reason I couldn't return the Magneton I just attached back to my hand. I'm meeting the conditions of attaching the Magneton, and it doesn't specify any restrictions on what energy you have to return.

My main issue is whether it counts as already being attached when I have to return the energy.
 
Correct. Once Magneton has been attached to a Pokemon that already has at least one other Energy attachd to it, you may choose to return it to your hand to fulfill the effect. The card's effect doesn't require you to pick a different Energy card- you certainly can pick Magneton if you so desire. This works because you first attach Magneton, then you need to return an Energy card to your hand. By the time you reach that point, Magneton is already attached as an Energy card, and is treated like one for all purposes while it remains in play.
 
Back
Top