ok if i have my gyarados stormfront out. and am about to attack. i have to discard a card due to giratinas power. if i were to discard a magikarp would my top attack do an extra 30 this time? or would i have to wait until next time?
While I cannot find a specific compendium ruling on this scenario, another ruling on this Poké-BODY (listed below) indicates that the discard for "Invisible Tentacles" occurs before the actual attack. Therefore, if the Gyarados player were to discard a magicarp, it would be in his/her discard pile by the time damage calculation occurred, meaning an additional 30 damage would be done.
Compendium said:
Q. If my opponent has Giratina Lv.X with "Invisible Tentacles" in play, and I use an attack that put cards back into my deck (i.e. "Upthrow" which puts all Fighting energy cards back into the deck), do I get to put the card I discarded for "Invisible Tentacles" if it meets the criteria?
A. Yes, the discard for Invisible Tentacles is done before you do any part of the attack. (Apr 2, 2009 PUI Rules Team)