Ruling Gengar Prime Ruling

Card Slinger J

Aspiring Trainer
Member
Say my Opponent has Gengar Prime as their Active Pokemon, I have Relicanth SV out and I use
Amnesia on Hurl into Darkness so that Gengar Prime can't use that attack on it's next turn.

On my Opponent's next turn they retreat Gengar Prime (free retreat) to bring out another Pokemon,
uses Warp Energy/Switch/Warp Point to switch it out with Gengar Prime as the Active again.

Does the effects of the attack Amnesia fizzle out due to Gengar Prime switching out or does it stay in?
 
All effects of attacks go away when the target is Benched. Gengar may hurl whatever he likes.
 
I double checked the rulings Compendium, and there was contradicting info

amnesia not taking effect:
Q. If Wooper uses Amnesia on Scyther's Slash, then Scyther retreats for another Pokémon, then that Pokémon retreats for Scyther again, can Scyther use Slash? There's a ruling in the Compendium right now that seems to contradict the general effects interpretation.
A. Amnesia references the defending Pokemon, when that Pokemon is benched the effect ends. (Apr 12, 2001 WotC Chat, Q269)

amnesia staying in effect:

Q. Say you have a Castform that was hit with Amnesia which prevents it from using one of its attacks the following turn. What happens if Castform uses "Temperamental Weather" to switch out for a different variant of Castform?
A. Well, if the new variant of Castform has the same attack name it would be prevented from using that particular attack. Any other attacks with different names would not be affected by the Amnesia condition. (Jun 10, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

Q. Bidoof uses "Amnesia" on Murkrow's own "Feint Attack". Can Murkrow then use Honchkrow LV.X's "Feint Attack" instead?
A. No. Amnesia blocks all attacks of the same name. (Apr 3, 2008 PUI Rules Team)


that last one is where it gets murky and contradicts the earlier ruling. Amnesia blocks all attacks of the same name. (Apr 3, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

since that ruling is newer than the one from 2001, wouldn't that be the deciding ruling?


Gengar follows the first example. Amnesia places an effect on the Defending Pokémon (of not being able to use a certain attack). When Gengar retreats, that effect goes away. The key difference between the rulings you referenced is in the top one, the target has retreated, while in the second one, it has not.

Castform's Temperamental Weather states that any effects on the old Castform remain on the new Castform, which is why if it were hit with Amnesia on the previous turn, it could not use the attack that was chosen. This is not important because all the Castform have different attacks, but the Amnesia effect is still on Castform regardless of whether or not the targeted attack is present anymore.

In the example of Honchkrow LV.X, Amnesia has targeted the Active Murkrow. What the ruling means is that any attack called "Feint Attack" cannot be chosen; even if it belongs to a different Pokémon, it still can't be used because it is an attack with the same name as the one that was shut off. Note that Murkrow was not sent to the Bench at all during its owner's turn; thus, the Amnesia effect remains, and Murkrow is subject to it.

Retreating (or, to be more accurate, moving from the Active spot to the Bench) removes all effects of attacks (but not Poké-Powers), even beneficial ones you put on yourself (such as Swords Dance in the Scyther example).

If there are any other questions, just let me know.
 
Back
Top