Finally returning to the Pokémon TCG

dbgoldberg323

TCG Professor, League Owner
Hey guys!

My name's Dave and while I'm not new to Pokémon, this is my first time posting on PokéBeach! I've seen a lot of sweet articles and nice people on here so I chose this forum for my one-stop Pokémon TCG site!

So I'm finally returning to the Pokémon TCG after about a six year absence. I started playing the game like a lot of people on day one (Base Set, WotC), and in 2006 I stopped playing casually and started competing. I went to Regionals and World Qualifiers down in Colorado Springs (with a Machamp react {F} deck and Metanite {L}{M} deck respectively) and didn't do too bad (results are in my signature). Then I got out of the military, moved away, moved back, had kids, etc etc etc and now I'm back.

I have bought random starter decks going all the way back to Diamond/Pearl, and even got a couple copies of a starter that came with an Expert Belt because I thought I was going to start playing again, but I never felt enough of a draw to make the commitment. Then Heart Gold and Soul Silver came out for the DS and man, Pokémon boomed in popularity again. I started up a league, got a bunch of people to buy into the game, and then my schedule changed and I had to abandon the league, and I didn't have the time to play anymore.

Fast forward a little bit and now I've got a sweeeet schedule/job where I can afford to play again and I have time to play. My local game store is going to bring in a Pokémon Professor on Sundays and start up a league, so I want to get back into the game hard-core and play competitively.

Now, Mewtwo happens to be an old favorite of mine (back when I was nearly undefeated with my old Haymaker with the movie-promo Mewtwos with Energy Absorption), and seeing the new Mewtwo EX makes me smile ear-to-ear. I'm sorry, but mo-frakin Mewtwo SHOULD be crazy OP! :p