Ruling Fainting Spell

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes, in the case of Palkia G's Splashing Turn, if you knocked out Gengar with it, Fainting Spell would still activate on Palkia. However attacks like Shuppet and Uxie, they would not be affected by Fainting Spell.

dmaster out.
 
dmaster said:
Yes, in the case of Palkia G's Pearl Breath, if you knocked out Gengar with it, Fainting Spell would still activate on Palkia. However attacks like Shuppet and Uxie, they would not be affected by Fainting Spell.

dmaster out.

That would be Splashing Turn.
 
Gengar has been errata'd to say "The ATTACKING Pokémon". This is why what dmaster says goes into effect for attacks like Splashing Turn (Pearl Breath switches nowadays?), Gliscor X's Night Slash, the works. However, cards that return to your hand/deck (Uxie/Shuppet/Starmie) won't be in play anymore when Gengar's effect starts working, thus avoiding it as opposed to the switchers.
 
Ok, it's illegal to forget an Attack name. Sorry, I don't memorize them. _-_

dmaster out.
 
K. One more question regarding Fainting Spell.

If my card says "Ignores Poke-Powers, and other effects," does Fainting Spell still occur?
 
You're probably talking about an attack here, no?

Those attacks only ignore stuff that would reduce/stop damage from the attack. Take Water Arceus for example, his would go right through Mewtwo X's Poké-Body, or most Grass types Resistance, or Scizor's Honeycomb Defender. These are effects that'd reduce/stop his damage otherwise. Fainting Spell, however, does not meddle with the damage itself and as such has nothing to do with these attacks.
 
Bippa201 said:
If I attack Gengar SF with an attack that says "Return this card to your bench", am I still at risk with Fainting Spell?

Yes, unless it says remove all effects that were caused by the Defending Pokemon on "Pokemon name". So far, no card says that though so your answer will be yes unless they create a card like above.
 
Grasspokemonmaster, please don't answer questions that have already been answered.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top