Ruling Drapion's Derail. ~ Quick Question

shadoworganoid

"Crimson Dance, Yugetsu!"
Member
Im pretty sure I know the answer, but I just want to double check.

Okay, so I have Drapion SF here;

15-drapion.jpg


If I use Derail, and attack a pokemon that is equipped with Rescue Energy;
90-rescue-energy.jpg


Lets say that Derail does enough damage to Knock out that pokemon.
My question is; Does Derail discard the energy BEFORE its effect can apply, or does Rescue energy save the pokemon?


Im pretty sure its discarded before the pokemon is, so it wont save it.
Isnt the correct order of steps to first apply the damage, then any other effects of that attack. Then finally, the discarding of the KO'd pokemon etc?
 
You are correct. All effects of the attack - including the energy discard - are resolved before you check for KOs. Therefore, Rescue Energy would not return the defending Pokémon to its owner's hand.
 
Back
Top