Ruling Catastrophe vs. Rescue Energy

El Radar

AKA Le Radar
Member
Say I use Gengar AR's Shadow Skip against a Pokemon that has Rescue Energy attached. I would use the effect of Shadow Skip to bounce to Gengar Prime. Would the defending Pokemon be sent to the Lost Zone on account of Catastrophe or be sent back to my opponent's hand due to Rescue Energy?
http://pokebeach.com/scans/triumphant/94-gengar.jpg

http://pokebeach.com/scans/triumphant/90-rescue-energy.jpg

http://pokebeach.com/scans/arceus/16-gengar.jpg
 
FAQ said:
Q. If my Pokemon has a Rescue Energy attached, and it is Knocked Out and would be sent to the Lost Zone by a card effect (e.g. Giratina LV.X's Darkness Lost, Darkrai & Cresselia LEGEND's Lost Crisis, Gengar Prime's Catastrophe), do the Pokemon cards return to my hand or do they go to the Lost Zone?

A. Since Rescue Energy and the Lost Zone-sending card effect will happen at the same time, the owner of Rescue Energy can decide which effect happens first; it is that player's choice to decide whether they go to the hand or Lost Zone. (Either way, all non-Pokemon cards are sent to the discard pile.)
~Mark
 
Back
Top