Collecting Card storage and protection

Discussion in 'Pokémon Trading Card Game' started by Grandneos12, Jul 31, 2019.

1. Grandneos12 Aspiring Trainer
    Grandneos12

Hi. I’m new to collecting and am wondering what the best way to store and protect cards is? Especially rare and valuable ones. I’ve seen so many different things like penny sleeves + top loaders or deck protectors + binders. Are things like team bags good? Im not interested in playing the actual game just want to collect and protect my cards. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Also, does anyone know which series contain Raichu? Collecting them is my no1 priority.

Last edited: Jul 31, 2019

2. Lucky Dan Aspiring Trainer
    Lucky Dan

Advanced Member Member

I personally just use UltraPro sleeves and sheets for my sets. I use the trainer decks for bulk storage. I'm recently returned to the game with my son after a 20 year hiatus, so I'm sure I am not doing what is "best".

For Raichu: https://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Raichu_(TCG)

3. PokeMedic Don't talk to me or my Pokemon ever again
    PokeMedic

Articles Staff Activities Staff Member

A lot of folks use decent sleeves to shield the card before they insert it into an acid-free binder sheet or portfolio. Since your collecting that would be the nicest option for you, unless you're not interested in having every single card protected like that.

Last edited: Aug 6, 2019
  4. Cody Pedigo Aspiring Trainer
    Cody Pedigo

I prefer legion dragon hide binder, dex protection, or ultra pro binders. They are all side loaders. Permanent pages though. But great protection
    Depending on how much protection you want, I double sleeve some of mine in inner sleeves smoke dragon shields and clear dragon shield mattes. I am considering to switching the clears out for the element color of pokemon.

5. Lucky Dan Aspiring Trainer
    Lucky Dan

Advanced Member Member

What's the advantage of a side loader vs a top loader card sheet?