Ruling "...but not used to pay for this attack's Energy cost."

PMJ

Silhouette Gloom of the Sundown Lands
Forum Head
Articles Head
Elite Member
Advanced Member
Member
Let's say I have LM Gorebyss with no Energy attached. I attach a Fighting Energy to it and end my turn. Next turn, I attach a React Energy. Reactive Booster turns React into double rainbow, which will help pay for my attack.

So what's the damage, 30 or 50? Does the order in which you attach Energy matter, or does the player decide how he or she wants the damage to be dealt (one turn do 30, another turn do 50)?

Is this true for all cards with the text found in the subject line?
 
RE: "...but not used to pay for this attack's Energy cost."

Yes, it does. Gorebyss is the one used in the example.

I meant, if you have other Pokémon with the attacks that have the "but not used to pay for this attack's Energy cost" text, does it matter what order you attach them in when you configure the damage, or can the player change it at any time, assuming the damage is possible?
 
well, you can't chose, it has to be 2 energies
well, so 1 F and 1 W used o attck, + 1 more water = 50
 
RE: "...but not used to pay for this attack's Energy cost."

That's not what I mean.

If you attach Fighting you have:

F

Next turn you attach React. For the sake of the attack, it is doubled and provides Water, so you have

F - W - W

Now you attack. Your attack costs W - C to use. You can pay it in two ways:

F - W - W. Fighting and one of the Waters provides Energy required for your base damage. One leftover Water Energy increases damage by 20 for a total of 50. This is if you strictly follow the order you attach Energy in. Fighting first, then React.

W - W - F. The React Energy turned double rainbow provides the Energy required for the base damage. Fighting doesn't increase the damage, so the total damage is 30. This is if you are allowed to declare that you're using the React Energy to pay for the attack, even though you attached the Fighting Energy first.

My question is, are you forced to follow the first example and configure damage based on the order you attach the Energy, or is a player allowed to "switch" Energy around to pay for the attack however he or she wants?
 
RE: "...but not used to pay for this attack's Energy cost."

There is no order to which energy is attached for these attacks, you choose which energy provides the attack's energy cost.

As far as I know in this case, you choose the energy to which you want to provide for the attacks energy cost, and any left over Water energies add to the damage.

E.g. You can announce that you want 1 Fighting and 1 of the Energy provided for the React to pay for the cost, that would = 1 Left over Water energy meaning an extra 20 damage. OR you can announce that you want both energy provided from the React to provide the energy cost, meaning there would be no extra damage.

That's how i've seen it played before. However, if someone knows a ruling on these types of cards then please post it up. I dont know if i'm 100% correct but that's fhow i've seen people play it before. There is no Compendium ruling on it from what i've seen, but if you want 100% confirmation im sure I could ask...
 
Back
Top