• When creating a thread in the Deck Garage, make sure that you post one deck per thread, you use the correct prefix, you have the set name/card number next to each card, you give a strategy for non-metagame decks, and give translations for all cards not available in English.

When posting in a thread, be sure to explain all your suggestions thoroughly. Additionally, do not ask for advice in another member's thread.

Alt. Format Base Set Deck (Charizard / Venusaur)

thedemonbarber

Aspiring Trainer
Pokemon: 18
  • 4 Bulbasaur
  • 1 Ivysaur
  • 4 Venusaur
  • 4 Charmander
  • 1 Charmeleon
  • 4 Charizard
Trainers/Supporters/Stadiums: 35
  • 4 Pokémon Breeder
  • 4 Professor Oak
  • 4 Bill
  • 4 Computer Search
  • 2 Item Finder
  • 2 Gust of Wind
  • 2 Defender
  • 2 Goop Gas Attack
  • 4 Super Potion
  • 2 Energy Removal
Energy: 12
  • 12 Grass Energy

Strategy:

So, I just started playing a year a two ago, so I never played base set, but upon looking at the three kanto starter cards I had an idea. If I am understanding these cards correctly, I can us venusaur on the bench like an aromatisse to heal with max potion as well as stockpile energy. Given all of this, I can use charizard's ability to change the grass into fire when attached to him. Is that the way it works? Am I missing something? If it is the case, thoughts on how to modify it to make it better, assuming its' only playing against base set decks?

Last edited by a moderator:

Darkness3827

Aspiring Trainer
If I remember correctly Poke-Powers can only be used when the pokemon is active. Poke-Bodies are what can be used whenever the pokemon is in play. So you would not be able to do that (unless you have Venusaur in, used his poke-power then switched for Charizard and used his).

Mora

Don't Panic
That's not printed on the card. I don't know if that was a rule in the rule book that the Pokemon had to be Active to use it's Power or something, but I've never heard that before.