Ruling Azelf MT pokebody Downer Material

Tweed

Aspiring Trainer
Member
The Azelf lv 50 from MT has a poke body that says "if you have Uxie and Mespirit in play, the attack cost of each of your opponent's Basic Pokemon's attacks is (1 colorless) more. You can't use more than one downer material poke body each turn."

The question is about the specific mention of BASIC POKEMON ATTACKS. In previous rulings a Lv X pokemon is stated as neither a basic nor an evolved pokemon. It is a leveled up pokemon. My question is does that pokebody require Lv X attacks to cost 1 more also since they are on a basic pokemon?

If it is true that Lv X attacks would be considered a basic pokemon attack, then It seems by the same argument BeBe's search could be used to search for a level X in a deck.

Thanks in advance!
 
Ok if a basic level's up than it's a still a basic.
But in the deck and out of play it's "pokemon" , not a basic or stage 1 & 2 so you can use bebe's to look for a X , but not roseanne's.
 
Downer Material would effect Azelf X, Mesprit X, Uxie X, Palkia X, Darkrai X, Dialga X, Cresella X.

When they are in play, they are a Level Up BASIC.

Downer Material would also affect a restored stage 1 or stage 2 that levels up also, as they are considered basic at that point.
 
Lion king said:
Ok if a basic level's up than it's a still a basic.
But in the deck and out of play it's "pokemon" , not a basic or stage 1 & 2 so you can use bebe's to look for a X , but not roseanne's.

DukeFireBird said:
When they are in play, they are a Level Up BASIC.

Both QFT

Tweed said:
In previous rulings a Lv X pokemon is stated as neither a basic nor an evolved pokemon.

Do not confuse the card with the game entity it becomes once it's in play.

While in the deck, a Level X card is neither a Basic or an Evolution -- it's simply a Pokemon card. So Bebe can fetch it (since it simply says to search for "a Pokemon") but Roseanne cannot (since Roseanne specifically says to get a "Basic Pokemon" card, which a Level X card is not).

Once in play, however, the Level X takes on the evolution stage of the card it's played on. So Azelf LvX, while in play, is still a Basic Pokemon. Empoleon LvX, while in play, is still a Stage 2 Evolved Pokemon (assuming you didn't use Garchomp's Restore to play Empoleon directly, as Duke noted -- then it would be a Basic).

Hence, Downer Material will affect a leveled-up Basic Pokemon. It's still a Basic.
 
Hate to say it, but if you have ever played magic, (sorry : (, but I have friends who do, so I do), a lvl. X is a lot like equipment that removes special conditions, more than an evolution. You attach it to give your guy extra moves, but it doesn't count as evolving to the next stage. It's the same reason you can't run four of a pokemon and four of the lvl. X, it's the same pokemon technically, just a "higher lvl" version.
 
Don't forget if you revive any pokemon with Garchomp Lv. X, that pokemon is now treated as a basic, and is affected by Downer Material.

Even if you revive Garchomp himself and Level him up, he's still a basic and is affected.

Edit: Nevermind, already clarified. My bad.
 
Back
Top