Ruling attack question

dragonpulse20

Working on Platinum Nuzlocke
Member
If I state my attack, then realize I didn't have enough energy, then I moved the energy I needed for the attack to the pokemon, can I re-do my attack or does it count as using the attack? Please respond soon! I playing my dad right now and that happened to me!:D
 
Technically, as soon as you declare an attack, you have to do some sort of attack, and then do an attack you have the correct energy for (the attack phase). If you find it was an honest mistake, and you ask your opponent if you're allowed to take it back, and your opponent allows you to continue your turn, you may then move the appropriate energy and attack.

If you don't have the energy to use the attack, and you try to use it, it doesn't count as attacking. Only when you actually use an attack does it count as attacking.
 
in a tournament level however, declaration of an attack, puts you into the attack step of the turn.

You can only go out of this by asking the opponents permission.

Even if you declare an invalid attack because you have not enough energy will cause this to happen.
 
Back
Top