Ruling Abomasnow Pokebody Question

Virde

Aspiring Trainer
Member
OKay, I'm an English major and notice small things like this.

As you see the Pokebody clearly says:

"As long as Abomasnow is your active pokemon, any damage done by your opponents attack is reduced by 20 (after applying weakness and resistance)."

I attached a picture for reference.

If I have an Abomasnow on my bench and second one as my Active, technically both their pokebodies would be active.

The Pokebody says, "As long as Abomasnow is your active pokemon" which is the only requirement for the Pokebody to be active. Since I have Abomasnow as my Active it meets the requirements (Seeing as it didn't say "THIS" Abomasnow, it just said Abomasnow meaning it can be any.)

So my question is... am I correct? I asked the officials at Battle Roads and they had no idea.
 

Attachments

  • 12-abomasnow.jpg
    12-abomasnow.jpg
    89.5 KB · Views: 3
This is an example of self-referencing. The body refers to that specific Abomasnow, not all of them.

If it meant any Abomasnow, it would have said "any Abomasnow" instead of just "Abomasnow." Nearly all bodies and powers are self-referencing.

In short, no, you are not correct.

I hope this clears things up.
 
What you are referering to is in play. Your active Pokemon is the one that you have in front of the others. Your benched Pokemon are considered in play, but are not your active Pokemon.~Mark
 
Back
Top