Ruling A very situational question. Professor answers prefered!

Seth1789110

.
Member
All right. So, this question is VERY situational. Here it is:

Player A:
Skarmory FB active
Ampharos PT benched

Skarmory FB used Metal Max or whatever the first attack is called.

Player B:
Lays down Uxie LA.


My question is this:

Since I laid down a basic pokemon, it takes damage because of Skarmory's attack. Ampharos says no pokemon with damage can use powers, but would I be able to lay down Uxie, call the power, THEN take damage or what? What would the order of things be?
 
I would have to say that, because the damage is effect of attack, Uxie takes damage first and cannot use it's power. The only reason I say this is because of the situation where when an Uxie KOs a Gengar. The effect of Psychic Restore is carried out before Fainting Spell can be used, rendering it useless. I believe the same principle applies here.
 
The exact order things happen would be
1) You play Uxie LA onto your bench
2) Check for any effects that happen as a result of an attack or Poke-Body
3) Then see if conditions are met before you can use a once during your turn
The reason step 3 is checking if conditions are met and not step 2 is because it says once during your turn when you play Uxie from your hand onto your bench. This means it already would have to of been placed onto the bench, thereby activating the effect of Skarmory's attack.

Side note: Only Professors who identified themselves when it was asked for are able to reply. Normal members do not have the ability to reply here. This was done to prevent a whole bunch of wrong answers that some of us corrected.~Mark
 
Back
Top