[Tutorial] How to create a great Pokémon fan-game?

Sheodon

The Orient Gamer
Greetings,

I think everyone had the idea of creating their own Pokémon game. When you have an idea, you start to think about how you could do it perfectly, or you just developed the details of a fantasy game. But what makes a fan-game so successful, and what are the methods to create your own game? That's why I created this tutorial. I have some experiences in game making, so I wanted to share my general and specific knowledge about it.

I. PLANNING

1. THE MECHANISM

The planning is the most important part of creating a (fan-)game. First of all, you need to decide what kind of game do you want. In case of a Pokémon ROM hack, or a totally new project, you can go with a totally new genre, or stay in the basics and modifying the details. However, you need at least one good idea which is totally different from the usual games. The biggest problem with most hacks or games is that they are doing nothing but adding Fakemons or changing the skins and that's all. Don't get me wrong, Fakemons are really good and I'll talk about them later, but only them won't make the people to play the game. You need one thing which is different. In other words: you need to something which makes people to play your game instead of any official games.

For example, Pokémon Island, a RPXP (RPG Maker XP) fan game had the idea to remove the usual 8 gym and league structure, and the whole game is about challenging people with a new stadium system. It's a refreshing move, and it cannot be find anywhere else. That's a good method to refresh the old concept but also keeping the core of the franchise. It's nothing hurting, but gives the game a more opened feeling, as it's optional when and how you participate in the stadium.