Discussion Time for a New Direction.

Chad2222

Aspiring Trainer
I have only been playing a short time and need a bit of help. I have already gotten a taste of the fight in a prerelease tournament for the latest set and want more! With that being said, I am in need of help in making a standard deck. Not really sure where to start so I am going to ask you fine folks!

The easiest thing for a new player is to start out with a theme deck and build up from there. Use your time with that deck to familiarize yourself with the game, how it works, and how it doesn't work. After that your noggin' will start joggin' and any advice you receive from others will be of more benefit. Experience is the greatest teacher.

OK maybe I should have clarified. I am not a total beginner to the game. I do already have a deck using a Charizard GX and Volcanions but now it isn't standard and this is more of a feeling people out and seeing what direction I would want to go for standard. Not really a beginner type conversation but more of an expansion of my understanding. I have been very partial to the fire as of late and want to do something else.

Not to sound to rude but if you were using a deck with volcanion and charizard GX you are a beginner

I would get a play set of Zoroark GX

Very versatile card so there’s a ton of decks you can make it, and since it always works with a partner it didn’t really loose anything from rotation

And it’s also great in expanded

Hey! I'm not too much of a Standard player (I very much prefer Expanded), but I'll give this a shot. The thing with playing in standard is that if you want to play a good, competitive deck, it gets kind of expensive. Is there anything you're interested in trying out, or that just interests you?