Staple Cards for Newcomers

Shadowtaint

Aspiring Trainer
Hey everyone! First time posting and I'd like for it to be something worthwhile. A lot of this information can be found spread out around the website, but I thought it'd be nice if it was all compiled into one area. As I'm new to the TCG competitive scene myself (Haven't played TCG since the first gameboy game, other than the occasional unlimited game with my roommates in Pittsburgh back in 2010.) I would definitely appreciate any additional input from more well-versed players. So, I suppose I'll start out with just listing the staple cards and what sets they are found in!

Key Terms:
Flashfire - FLF *not in rotation*
Phantom Forces - PHF *not in rotation*
Primal Clash - PRC
Double Crisis - DCR
Roaring Skies - ROS
Ancient Origins - AOR
Breakthrough - BKT
Breakpoint - BKP
Generations - GEN
Fates Collide - FAC
Steam Siege - STS

**Note 1: The sets the are not in rotation are listed as they have reprints that are still usable in play and are therefore viable options for obtaining certain cards. Especially important when it comes to obtaining some of the cards at a cheaper price.**
The Staples
Shaymin-EX (ROS 77/108) - $61.62
1070864.jpg

Ultra Ball (ROS 93/108, FAC 113/124) - $0.44-$0.67
200px-UltraBallFlashfire99.jpg

VS Seeker (PHF 108/119, ROS 110/108) - $11.12-25.42
94677_200w.jpg

Trainers' Mail (ROS 92/108, AOR 100/98) - $3.73-16.41
98128_200w.jpg

N (FAC 105/124) - $2.91
XY10_EN_105.png

Lysandre (FLF 90/106, FLF 104/106 (FA), AOR 78/98) - $0.64-0.94/$21.88 (FA)
101500_200w.jpg

Professor Sycamore (BKP 107/122, STS 114/114 (FA)) - $0.78/36.34 (FA)
111637_200w.jpg

**Note 2: All prices are taken from TCG Player Market Value listing.**

Why They're Important