Help Scizor in 2018?

craig_jp

Aspiring Trainer
Hi, So I'm new to the TCG coming over from the VGC and I have just learnt Scizor decks used to exist a year or so ago. Now Scizor might not be the "best" Pokémon but it is definitely my all time favourite and wondered if anyone had any ideas to make this viable to a point again?

I've also learnt Volcanion decks are quite common and is a problem in itself but I would appreciate it if someone could help me or give ideas on what Pokémon to partner Scizor with against such matchups and in general.

This will be the first deck I will be building. Budget is no issue.

Thank you in advanced :)

I just wrote this in another thread
My main point I think, for a newcomer that wants to play at a competitive level - is that you can't just invest in a single deck. Everyone will have their favourite decks of course, but what is the best choice to play this month, will nearly always be different than what was the best play last month. It is best to invest in the core of a deck - the Leles/Support/Tools & Items that will be interchangeable - and change up your approach and deck around that core from month to month depending on what you expect to face. Half the game is won by reading the meta in advance, and choosing accordingly.

If you are just beginning the game, it is worth bearing in mind you really invest in a deck core that can be used in future in all of your different decks, then change out your attackers etc. around your cards.

That said, if you are playing for fun and not at a competitive level, Scizor still has a few tricks up it's sleeve, and is bolstered by the amount of upcoming Metal support. Some ideas:
  • Mega Scizor can remove Special Energy (and there are a lot of Special Energy reliant decks around at the moment), so a disruptive approach could work. It can be a little clunky as a Mega though. The new Cyrus Prism card (see front page), can help this strategy.