Questions about 3-2-3(-1) lines

FireWheel

Aspiring Trainer
Hello Pokébeach! I just started playing the Pokémon TCG a couple of weeks ago and I'm loving it, and reading through a number of deck buildling posts here I have some questions that I'm hoping you all can help me with. :) (I read through the several pages of rules, FAQ, newbie guide, etc. and I hope that I don't break any of your rules. If I do by accident please PM me and I'll make sure to fix whatever needs fixing!)

Main question: Why do many people recommend 3-2-3 and 3-2-3-1 evolution lines?

First off, I hope that I'm understanding the notation correctly. I'm guessing that 3-2-3 means having 3 Basics, 2 Stage 1's, and 3 Stage 2's of a particular line of pokémon, yes? (With possibly 1 copy of a "Level X" if the line has one.)

Why have only two of the Stage 1 pokémon? That doesn't seem like enough to make sure that you're going to make it to Stage 2 in a reasonable amount of time. There are definitely cards which allow you to search through your deck to find what you want, but 2 just feels ... small to me. Also, if one of them turns out to be one of your prizes, then you only have one left to upgrade to Stage 2, meaning that two of your Stage 2 pokémon are useless to you.

Hand in hand with the above paragraph, why have more Stage 2 pokémon in a line than Stage 1? One of your Stage 2 pokémon is guaranteed to be useless because you don't have a Stage 1 for it to upgrade from. Also, you have to find one of your Stage 1's before you can even play your Stage 2, so wouldn't you want to make sure that you can find a Stage 1 before you start worrying about finding a Stage 2?

What am I missing here? I doubt that you guys would keep recommending it if it wasn't effective. Is there a card that I don't know about which allows you to jump straight from a Basic to a Stage 2 perhaps? Is it a bad idea to risk having too many Stage 1 pokémon on your bench?

Thanks in advance to helping to enlighten me! :)