• When creating a thread in the Deck Garage, make sure that you post one deck per thread, you use the correct prefix, you have the set name/card number next to each card, you give a strategy for non-metagame decks, and give translations for all cards not available in English.

When posting in a thread, be sure to explain all your suggestions thoroughly. Additionally, do not ask for advice in another member's thread.

Standard Empoleon Deck

Logjam

Aspiring Trainer
Hello all! I am relatively new to competitive TCG, but I have been going to my local League event for many years. I just attended my first tournament with this deck that uses Empoleon:

Pokemon*15:
  • Empoleon*4
  • Prinplup*2
  • Piplup*4
  • Alolan Vulpix*2
  • Oranguru*2
  • Tapu Lele Gx*1
Trainers*35:
  • Rare Candy*4
  • Aqua Patch*4
  • Ultra Ball*4
  • Nest Ball*3
  • Field Blower*1
  • Rescue Stretcher*1
  • Cynthia*4
  • Judge*3
  • Guzma*2
  • Professor Kukui*2
  • Apricorn Maker*1
  • Choice Band*3
  • Escape Board*2
  • Brooklet Hill*2
Energy*10:
  • Counter Energy*2
  • Water Energy*8
This deck worked surprisingly well, but I had trouble finding the rare candies and Guzma when I needed them. I was also thinking of adding a baby alolan ninetails for an anti-GX wall, a volcanion prism star to help manipulate which pokemon is active, and/or Crasher Wake to find those pesky rare candies (although I think i would need more energy to use him). If I did this though, I wouldn't know what cards to remove. What to do you guys think?

Last edited:
I've found that Zoroark-GX works well alongside Empoleon, since both are powered up when your bench is full. Zoroark can also provide you with some much-needed draw support to help find those Rare Candies. If you run it, I suggest also running Mallow to get any two cards you want.

-1 Alolan Vulpix (one is all you need)
-1 Oranguru (ditto)
-2 Professor Kukui
-2 Ultra Ball (4's a little excessive IMO)
-1 Judge
-1 Water Energy

+2 Zorua SLG 52
+2 Zoroark-GX SLG