Debate: What is the "Real Value" of a Card?

Empoleon_master

I can stop watching Anime any time I don't want to
I've been playing pokemon for 5 years or so and this rarely comes up, but when it does no one has a solid answer. It's kind of like debating what exactly a god is, you take 10 really smart people ask them the question and they all have different answers with no consensus, just a lot of yelling.

So, let me ask you guys, what is the "real value" of a card? Here are the arguments I've heard that I can remember, for multiple people. The "real value" of a card is: Counter arguments are in parenthesis

Its competitive value.
The completed listings on ebay. (no, that's what people jacked them up to on ebay)
The listed price on Troll and Toad as of some XY set as they started being good about that as of that set. (no that's the price they sell them at to make money)
The listed price on Amazon as their prices are consistent. (see T&T argument)
The listed price on X website I haven't heard of.
How common it is to get via packs. (no, there could be cards that are common but are worth a dollar like Wobbutfett)
How much it is worth to the person getting it/what they value it at.
The price on Pokeprices with the possible average of 3 days of prices. (I'll admit I do this) (no, that's only because people on pokeprices jacked up the price to that much because they're selling them there. *note there is no selling etc on pokeprices so that argument is BS* "Still, that's not the 'real value' of the card"

So, people of Pokebeach what do YOU think the "real value" of a card is? And if there is one why is it so hard to find?

bbninjas

Ready or Not!
Advanced Member
I think the real value is the average of which people sell the card for.

Athena

The Cooler Danchou
Advanced Member
I think the real value is the average of which people sell the card for.