Discussion Multiple Stage 2 Drop Off in Meta

Lewcurio

Aspiring Trainer
Question and/or discussion point here.

When I started playing before I dropped out of the game, I distinctly remember Dusknoir/Empoleon being a popular deck. How did two stage 2's in a deck actually hold up well in the "meta" (assuming it was meta) at the time? And why wouldn't it work by today's standards?

My curiosity is peaked because of the announcement of the new Sceptile. I thought Vikavolt would potentially be a good partner for it, but would it really?

Otaku

The wise fool?
It is quite rare for two Stage 2 Pokémon to function well in a deck outside of radical Evolution acceleration (like Rare Candy pre-errata). I seem to recall that Dusknoir/Empoleon was competitive but not among the top decks. Sort of a "You must defeat Dusknoir/Empoleon to stand a chance."

gema5

Aspiring Trainer
I think the EX era restarted a situation that standed in vintage TCG for many seasons, but in a even worse scenario: meta's sheer speed.

Brute force of Basics is being skyrocketed, while Stage 2s are relatively weak. Our last true meta defining Stage 2 was an extremely overpowered card (garde) that got countered by absolute meta control from the Pokemon Company (or whoever makes the cardgame). Greninja BREAK was good back then, but with tons of zoroarks and octilerys around and Acerola abuse, N strategy has become less attractive.

Fast paced meta gives hard time to previous forms of those cards, because having buzzwole hitting 90dmg +30benched for 1 energy T2 makes evolving TOUGH and EXPENSIVE (you'll lose 1 or 2 prizes in order to get a St2 going); Free random Lysandres by lycanroc, All forms of necrozma are basics, zoroark hitting 100 for 1 DCE and trading as hell... I'm hoping Salamence and Dragonite stand out

Eventual uses of stage 2 you may find around are: gardevoir gx and random mons that got nice abilities. Greninja GX is coming, though.